Skip to content

They say you can’t change a man…

August 31, 2009

…but I’ve never been much of a rule-follower.

Austin is your classic steak consuming, iron pumping, SUV driving, small town boy and the unfortunate target of my semesterAustin long project.*  In the next 15 weeks, I will attempt to convert (with no inquisitions-too messy!) my red-blooded boy into a green guy.

We will leave no stone unturned: from recycling to meatless Mondays (which I’m still trying to get his ok on…his initial reaction was an adamant and solid “No.”).  Each week a different topic will be explored and tested, his mind will be probed and prodded, and perhaps at the end of the semester he won’t run at the mere mention of organic.

But this project isn’t just about a green girl and her all American boy.  It is also a look into the motivations or lack thereof to be more environmentally conscious.  It is a investigation into the who, what, why and why nots of practices we have accepted to be sustainable, at times without a second thought.

And now without further ado…

*Don’t worry, no boyfriends were harmed in the course of this environmental investigation.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Luscious Lauren permalink
    September 4, 2009 2:22 pm

    And just like that you’ve been added to my favorites bar and guaranteed yourself at least one hit per day. Voila!

  2. Audrey permalink
    September 4, 2009 10:06 pm

    I too am happy to know no “All American Boy” will be harmed in any way shape or fi. Semper that is…..
    So, I raise my glass of non hormonal, organic, open range milk to your efforts. I look forward to the end of semester testimonial from this Western Kansas born and raised Son.

    Bon Chance Mes Amis.

    Ps as a chemist I do understant that Nitrogen is just that Nitrogen.

  3. September 6, 2009 7:54 pm

    This is quite the challenge! I can’t wait to see how it goes!

    Good luck Janie and as always, I love the way you write 🙂

    love,
    kp

  4. September 7, 2009 2:01 am

    Can’t wait for the first installment!!! 🙂

  5. janiec52 permalink
    September 8, 2009 10:35 am

    Thanks for all the support guys!

  6. Brenna permalink
    February 11, 2010 11:47 pm

    Hello,

    So I just say a link to your blog from the Center of Sustainability at KU, and I was wondering if you would be willing to talk about last semester. I think that is really interesting, and I think other people would as well.

    I am the environmental reporter so that is how I got interested in the blog. I love it!

    Anyways, if you would be interested in talking, please feel free to e-mail me. That would be great!

    Thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

